# BROMSGROVE DISTRICT COUNCIL

## **ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL**

#### 18TH MAY 2016 AT 6.00 P.M.

PRESENT: Councillors C. J. Spencer (Chairman), H. J. Jones (Vice-Chairman),
C. Allen-Jones, S. J. Baxter, C. J. Bloore, M. T. Buxton, S. R. Colella,
B. T. Cooper, R. J. Deeming, G. N. Denaro, R. L. Dent, M. Glass,
J. M. L. A. Griffiths, C.A. Hotham, R. E. Jenkins, R. J. Laight, K.J. May,
C. M. McDonald, P. M. McDonald, S. R. Peters, S. P. Shannon,
M. A. Sherrey, R. D. Smith, C. B. Taylor, P.L. Thomas, M. Thompson,
L. J. Turner, S. A. Webb and P. J. Whittaker

#### 1\16 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors P. Lammas and L. C. R. Mallett.

#### 2\16 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The following Councillors were proposed as Chairman for the ensuing year:

Councillor H.J. Jones - proposed by Councillor M. A. Sherrey and seconded by Councillor R. J. Laight

Councillor M. Thompson - proposed by Councillor C. J. Bloore, seconded by Councillor M. Buxton.

Following a show of hands it was

<u>**RESOLVED**</u> that Councillor H. J. Jones be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Jones signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and thanked Members of the Council for electing her to the Office of Chairman.

Councillor H. J. Jones - in the Chair

## 3\16 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Councillor C. B. Taylor proposed, Councillor P. L. Thomas seconded that Councillor M. Glass be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor S Baxter proposed, Councillor S. Colella seconded, that Councillor L. Turner be elected Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

Following a show of hands it was

**<u>RESOLVED</u>** that Councillor M. Glass be elected Vice- Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Glass signed the Declaration of Acceptance of office and thanked Members of the Council for electing him to the office of Vice-Chairman.

## 4\16 VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING OFFICE HOLDERS

The Chairman paid tribute to the retiring Chairman, Councillor C. J. Spencer, and presented her with a bouquet of flowers and a Past Chairman's badge as a mark of the Council's appreciation of the work she had undertaken as Chairman.

It was

**<u>RESOLVED</u>** that the thanks of the Council be tendered to Councillor C. J. Spencer for her services as Chairman of the Council.

The Chairman presented Mr J. Spencer with a Past Consort's badge and a small gift as a mark of the Council's appreciation of him acting as consort to the Chairman during the past year.

## 5\16 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No Declarations of Interest were received.

#### 6\16 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN

The Chairman announced that her Chaplain for the year would continue to be Reverend Ray Khan.

The Chairman also announced that her Charity for the year would be Sunfield Special School who supported boys and girls aged 6-19 with complex learning needs, including Autism. Representatives from Sunfield would be available at the end of the meeting to provide further information.

# 7\16 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE LEADER

The Leader announced that Councillor R. L. Dent would be stepping down from the Cabinet and Councillor K. J. May would be joining the Cabinet.

The following Councillors would remain on the Cabinet:

- Councillor C. B. Taylor (Deputy Leader)
- Councillor G. N. Denaro
- Councillor R. J. Laight
- Councillor P. J. Whittaker

The Leader thanked Councillor Dent for the work she had undertaken on behalf of the Council during her time on the Cabinet. Councillor C. J. Bloore also paid tribute to the work Councillor Dent had undertaken as a portfolio holder.

# 8\16 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES 2016-17

It was proposed by Councillor M. A. Sherrey, seconded by Councillor G. N. Denaro and

## RESOLVED:

- (a) that for the ensuing Municipal Year, the Committees set out in the table in Appendix 1 of the report, be appointed and that the representation of the different political groups on the Council on those Committees be as set out in that table until the next Annual Meeting of the Council, or until the next review of political representation under Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, whichever is the earlier;
- (b) that Members be appointed to the Committees and as Substitute Members in accordance with the nominations made by Group Leaders and as set out at appendix 1 to these minutes;
- (c) that the terms of reference for the Boards and committees as set out at Appendix 2 to the report be confirmed.

## 9\16 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

Councillor G. N. Denaro requested that this item be deferred for consideration at the next Council meeting in view of the on-going review of Outside Bodies.

Arising from a comment relating to whether it was appropriate to appoint to bodies associated with the Greater Birmingham and Solihull LEP in

#### Council 18th May 2016

view of the Council's membership of Worcestershire LEP, it was agreed that this would be taken into account when the requirements to appoint were reviewed. A written explanation of the outcome would be provided to Members.

**<u>RESOLVED</u>** that the appointments to Outside Bodies be deferred until the next meeting of the Council and that in the meantime the existing appointments remain in post.

## 10\16 SCHEME OF DELEGATION

**<u>RESOLVED</u>** that the current version of the Officer Scheme of Delegations as set out in Appendix 1 to the report be noted.

## Appointments to Committees 2016/17

The meeting closed at 6.35 p.m.

<u>Chairman</u>

# Bromsgrove District Council

# Composition of Committees 2016-17

Committee	Cons	Lab	Independent Alliance	Comments
Overview and Scrutiny Board	Take 7Allen-JonesCooperGlassSmithSpencerThomasWebb	2 Bloore Mallett	2 Baxter Colella	11 members on Board
Licensing Committee	6 Cooper Dent Lammas Spencer Thomas Webb	2 <b>Take 3</b> Buxton C. McDonald Shannon	2 Peters Turner (substitute Baxter)	11 members on Committee
Planning Committee	6 Allen-Jones Deeming Glass Spencer Thomas Whittaker	2 Buxton Shannon	2 <b>Take 3</b> Baxter Hotham Peters (Substitute Turner)	11 members on Committee
Audit, Standards and Governance Committee	5 Cooper Dent Smith Spencer Thomas	2 P. McDonald Thompson	2 Colella Peters	9 members on Committee
Electoral Matters Cttee	4 Allen-Jones Glass Griffiths Lammas	2 Mallett Thompson	1 Turner	7 members on Committee
Appeals	3 Allen-Jones Cooper Deeming	1	1	5 members on Committee

Appointments/Statutory Officers Disciplinary Appeals Panel	3 Denaro May Taylor	1	1	5 members on Committee
TOTAL Entitlement	34	13	11 Take 12	<b>59</b> places available